First Stone Conference 2016 / 2022


Tivoli BBVA Theatre
Av. da Liberdade 182 188, 1250-146 Lisbon

10am to 5pm



The First Stone Conference was a unique opportunity to hear and see live, in the form of debates, most of the guest authors of the programme, who discussed and analysed transversal themes to contemporary art, architecture and design and their relationship with sustainability. It was conceived to contextualise, as well as share knowledge,  to the general public about the exhibition that opened on the same evening. It was also recorded  on video in order to integrate the fourth and final First Stone Documentary.

The debates will soon be available online.


9:30 Doors Open


Debate 1 Michel Rojkind (Architecture) / Paulo David (Architecture) / Vladimir Djurovic (Landscape Architecture)

Moderator: Aric Chen

Debate 2 Pedro Falcão (Design) / Manuel Aires Mateus (Arquitecture) / Michael Anastassiades (Design)

Moderator: Zoë Ryan

Debate 3 Frith Kerr (Design) / Jorge Silva (Design) / Ian Anderson (Design)

Moderator: Deniz Ova

12:30 Break


Debate 4 Carsten Höller  (Art) / Stefan Sagmeister  (Design) / R2 (Design)

Moderators: Guta Moura Guedes and Aric Chen

Debate 5 Humberto Campana (Design) / Claudia Moreira Salles (Design)

Moderator: Anabela Mota Ribeiro

Debate 6 Carla Juaçaba (Arquitecture) / João Luis Carrilho da Graça (Arquitecture) / Miguel Vieira Baptista (Design)

Moderators: Zoë Ryan and Deniz Ova

The debates will be in English, except the one moderated by Anabela Mota Ribeiro.


As part of the set design, the Conference stage had original pieces by the Portuguese designer Daciano da Costa, with the support of Atelier Daciano da Costa.